Panel of Judges

The judges for the CFO Awards are extremely experienced in the field of business and finance and are highly regarded by the CFO community. The panel consist of industry leaders working for South Africa's leading universities, banks, advisory, IT and law firms, as well as former CFO Awards winners.

- Find out more about the judging process.
- See a list of previous members of the panel.

Aarti Takoordeen
CFO AECI. Young CFO of the Year 2014. Joined the panel in 2016.
Ben Marx
Chairman at the Department of Accountancy at the University of Johannesburg. Joined the panel in 2014.
Bongi Ngoma
Head of Audit - National: AGSA. CFO of the Year 2021. JoinS the panel in 2022.
Christine Ramon
CFO AngloGold Ashanti. CFO of the Year 2018. Joined the panel in 2020.
Christo Els
Senior Partner Webber Wentzel. Joined the panel in 2015.
Claudelle von Eck
Founder, Brave Inflexions. Former CEO of the Institute of Internal Auditors South Africa. Joined the panel in 2014.
Herman Bosman
CEO RMB Holdings and RMI Holdings. Joined the panel in 2019.
Isaac Mophatlane
Founder of the Business Connexion Group and Chairman of Randvest Capital. Joins the panel in 2022.
Kevin Black
Audit Partner Deloitte Africa. Joined the panel in 2017.
Leon Crouse
Former CFO Remgro and Vodacom. Winner CFO Lifetime Achievement Award 2016. Joined the panel in 2017.
Pat Semenya
CEO of the Institute of Risk Management South Africa. Joined the panel in 2021
Ramasela Ganda
Chief Executive Officer, Avis Budget Rent-a-Car. Public Sector CFO of the Year 2017. Joined the panel in 2019.
Victor Sekese
CEO SNG Grant Thornton. Joined the panel in 2014.

Judging process

Between January and April, CFO South Africa will interview all nominated CFOs to get a clear picture of his or her drive, motivation, vision and results. Each of the judges are present during at least two of the interviews, which will be conducted by two judges and an editor. The confidential reports of these interviews will be added to the dossier of each CFO and will be used by the judges to determine their individual votes. The dossier also contains a full profile description of the nominee combined with all relevant background information.

The goal of the interview is to get insight in the CFO’s involvement in the overall success of the company and the way he or she has distinguished himself or herself. To help structure the interview, there is a standard set of interview questions as a guideline.

Each CFO has to answer four basic questions in four compulsory categories:
- Strategy Execution
- Transformation & Empowerment
- High Performance Team
- Compliance & Governance

Each CFO also has to answer four basic questions in one of the following elective categories:
- Finance Transformation
- Moving into Africa
- Finance & Technology

There are no specific sets of questions for the overall categories Public Sector/Young CFO of the Year. The votes for the specific categories will be tallied to determine who wins the Public Sector, Young & CFO of the Year Award.

Your votes please
In the second week of April, the panel of judges will receive the dossiers. Judges will be asked to score each CFO on the short list on a scale from 1 to 10 in the category they are eligible for. By adding up all the points the winners are determined for each award category.

What happens in the case of a tie?
In case of a tie in one of the award categories, the nominee who receives the highest score in the CFO of the Year vote wins the award in that category. If there is still a tie, the nominee who scores highest in most of the four compulsory categories wins. If there is still a tie, the judges will be asked to vote for one of the tied nominees in a second round.

Past Members - Panel of Judges

Adam Craker
CEO IQ Business. Panel member 2014.
Anton Roux
Former CEO Aon South Africa. Panel member 2014.
Asher Bohbot
Former CEO EOH. Panel member 2014-2015.
Brett Tromp
CFO Discovery Health. Young CFO of the Year 2015. Winner High Performance Team Award 2015. Joined the panel in 2016.
Carel Smit
Head of Sales & Markets KPMG Southern Africa. Panel member 2015-2018.
Clement Chinaka
MD Old Mutual Corporate. Panel member 2016.
David Fine
Global leader Public and Social Sector Practice McKinsey. Panel member 2015-2017.
Delphine Maïdou
Former CEO Allianz GCS Africa. Panel member 2014-2016.
Deon Viljoen
CFO Discovery. CFO of the Year 2015. Panel member 2016-2019. (profile)
Edward Kieswetter
Former CEO Alexander Forbes. Panel member 2015.
Jonathan Lang
Former Head of Africa Strategy Bowman Gilfillan. Panel member 2014-2017.
Luvuyo Masinda
Head Global Client Coverage Standard Bank CIB. Joined the panel in 2019.
Mary Vilakazi
Group COO FirstRand. Nominee CFO Awards 2017. Panel member 2018 - 2020
Mfundo Nkuhlu
COO Nedbank. Panel member 2015.
Mteto Nyati
CEO Altron. Panel member in 2019.
Pieter Bensch
Former MD Oracle South Africa. Panel member 2014.
Riad Gydien
Regional Senior Vice President South EMEA SAS. Panel member 2014-2015.
Richard Etemesi
CEO Southern Africa Standard Chartered Bank. Panel member 2014.
Rob Otty
MD Norton Rose Fulbright South Africa. Panel member 2014-2015.
Simon Ridley
Non-executive Director Standard Bank, former Group FD. CFO of the Year 2014. Panel member 2016 - 2020
Willem-Jeroen Stevens
Founder Transparent. Panel member 2014.
Wiseman Nkuhlu
Chancellor University of Pretoria. Panel member 2017-2019.