The annual CFO Awards recognises CFOs of listed companies, large corporations, state-owned entities and government institutions and awards them for outstanding performance and leadership. Over 350 top CFOs, VIPs and business partners attend the event annually to enjoy networking, entertainment and a scrumptious dinner.

Themed 'World class finance in action', the seventh annual CFO Awards takes the glitz and glamour to an unprecedented level, providing more networking opportunities than ever. Special guest Claire Janish, founding director of Biomimicry South Africa, will blow your mind with a visual presentation about the way nature's innovation can challenge CFOs to design better products, processes & systems. You'll also hear from the first black African woman Everest-slayer, Saray Khumalo, about what mountaineering has taught her about leadership and life.

The Covid-19 virus has thrown the world a curveball it doesn't quite know how to deal with. What is clear is that social distancing and postponing of events can "flatten the curve" and save lives.

CFO South Africa won't be hosting any physical events until it becomes safe for our communities and all South Africans to do so.

Nominate your favourite CFO for the 2021 CFO Awards, by clicking here

17h00: Arrival
18h30: Gala dinner and awards ceremony : categories
20h30: Gala dinner and awards ceremony : top awards
21h00: Entertainment and networking

2019 Winners

CFO of the Year – Ralph Mupita CFO MTN
Young CFO of the Year – Umar Banda CFO City of Tshwane
Public Sector CFO of the Year – Nonkululeko Dlamini CFO IDC
Strategy Execution Award – Ralph Mupita CFO MTN
Transformation & Empowerment Award – Hannes Boonzaaier CFO AfroCentric
High Performance Team Award – Ralph Mupita CFO MTN
Compliance & Governance Award – André du Plessis CFO Capitec
Finance Transformation Award – Ralph Mupita CFO MTN
Moving into Africa Award – Arno Daehnke Group FD Standard Bank
Finance & Technology Award – André du Plessis CFO Capitec

Learn more about the categories
Thanks to the support of CFOs, partners, industry leaders and the eminent panel of judges, the event has grown into the most important day on the annual calendar for finance executives. Many CFO Awards winners have gone on to achieve even bigger and better things, while countless nominees have received a boost to their careers.

Click here for all the CFO Awards winners.

CFOs of the Year
  • 2014 - Simon Ridley, then group FD at Standard Bank
  • 2015 - Deon Viljoen, then CFO Alexander Forbes
  • 2016 - Reeza Isaacs, CFO Woolworths
  • 2017 - Till Streichert, CFO Vodacom
  • 2018 - Christine Ramon, CFO AngloGold Ashanti
  • 2019 - Ralph Mupita, CFO MTN

    Click here for comprehensive coverage of winners, nominees and the festivities.

  • Principal Sponsor

    Award Sponsors

    Associate Sponsors

    Table Sponsors

    • The Polo Room
      Forrest Rd & 6th Ave, Inanda